INDEX COMMONS

Book Printing — plan a special edition

Compare five documented printing routes. Find the questions to ask before requesting a quote.

A documented candidate is a starting point for a quote, not a quality endorsement or confirmation that your full specification can be produced. No provider is ranked.

Evidence checked from owner-supplied source summaries. Version 2026-09-30.3. Review interval: 90 days. Download versioned evidence JSON.

Provider evidence pages

Five seed providers in source order, with no ranking. Each page includes dated evidence and open questions.

Your book specification

Start with an example: 25 copies, 6 × 9 inches, 300 pages, foil, printed edge artwork and printed endpapers. Unknown capabilities remain open questions.

Book and print run
Finishes

Sprayed edges and printed edge artwork are different techniques. Page count alone does not establish block thickness.

Cover variants and delivery

Use comma-separated quantities that add up to your total. A total minimum never confirms each variant.

Printing routes

2 documented candidates; 1 need capability confirmation; 2 excluded. All five providers shown. All specifications require a quote.

Confirmed = a particular documented fact. Unknown = no established claim. Conflict = outside a documented rule. Ask in your quote = conditional or unresolved specification.

Bookmobile

Quote required · capability unresolved

  • Confirmed fact: Total quantity meets the documented minimum and normal maximum. This does not establish per-variant eligibility.
    Normal print runs are 25–3,000 copies per order. In special circumstances, runs up to 6,000 are documented; quantities of 3,001–6,000 require a quote and confirmation of exceptional eligibility. Quantity section independently rechecked 2026-10-01; the snapshot review date is unchanged. Checked 2026-09-30 · Source
  • Confirmed fact: A hardcover binding route is documented. Confirm the exact case construction.
    PUR adhesive casebound hardcover; printed case or plain case with jacket. Other named case materials are not established here. Checked 2026-09-30 · Source
  • Ask in your quote: Choose a case material with the printer before confirming finish compatibility.
    PUR adhesive casebound hardcover; printed case or plain case with jacket. Other named case materials are not established here. Checked 2026-09-30 · Source
  • Ask in your quote: Confirm this exact trim with the printer; a maximum or custom-size offer does not establish every size.
    Standard trims: 5.5 × 8.5, 6 × 9, 7 × 10, 8.5 × 11 inches. Custom sizes up to 12 inches square; smaller custom-size limits are not specified. Checked 2026-09-30 · Source
  • Ask in your quote: Confirm page count, stock, interior printing and finished book-block thickness as one specification.
    Complete page-count and paper-stock compatibility is not established by the approved seed evidence. Checked 2026-09-30 · Source
    Exact interior ink, paper, file specifications and their finish compatibility require a quote. Checked 2026-09-30 · Source
  • Ask in your quote: Finish evidence describes routes and combinations, not universal compatibility. Confirm selected case, foil process, endpapers and artwork together.
    Hardcover foil on front, back and spine is documented together with printed or colored endsheets. Checked 2026-09-30 · Source
  • Unknown: Decorated-edge capability is unknown; a quote is required.
    Decorated edges are not established in the supplied evidence. Absence is not a statement that they are unavailable. Checked 2026-09-30 · Source
All evidence, production and proof requirements

quantity · documented
Normal print runs are 25–3,000 copies per order. In special circumstances, runs up to 6,000 are documented; quantities of 3,001–6,000 require a quote and confirmation of exceptional eligibility. Quantity section independently rechecked 2026-10-01; the snapshot review date is unchanged. Checked 2026-09-30 · Source

binding · documented
PUR adhesive casebound hardcover; printed case or plain case with jacket. Other named case materials are not established here. Checked 2026-09-30 · Source

dimensions · documented
Standard trims: 5.5 × 8.5, 6 × 9, 7 × 10, 8.5 × 11 inches. Custom sizes up to 12 inches square; smaller custom-size limits are not specified. Checked 2026-09-30 · Source

pages · unknown
Complete page-count and paper-stock compatibility is not established by the approved seed evidence. Checked 2026-09-30 · Source

print · quote-required
Exact interior ink, paper, file specifications and their finish compatibility require a quote. Checked 2026-09-30 · Source

finishes · documented
Hardcover foil on front, back and spine is documented together with printed or colored endsheets. Checked 2026-09-30 · Source

edges · unknown
Decorated edges are not established in the supplied evidence. Absence is not a statement that they are unavailable. Checked 2026-09-30 · Source

variants · unknown
Split-cover runs and per-variant minimum quantities are not established. Checked 2026-09-30 · Source

fulfillment · documented
Warehousing and dropship fulfillment are documented; store integration details require confirmation. Checked 2026-09-30 · Source

production · documented
Production is in Minneapolis, USA. Checked 2026-09-30 · Source

proofs · documented
PDF and physical unbound proofs; new publishers must see physical proofs. Checked 2026-09-30 · Source

PrintNinja

Excluded for this specification

  • Conflict: Requested 25 copies falls outside the documented run range (250+).
    Hardcover minimum is 250 copies; this does not establish a minimum for each cover variant. Checked 2026-09-30 · Source
  • Confirmed fact: A hardcover binding route is documented. Confirm the exact case construction.
    Sewn casebound hardcover with printed, cloth, PU or jacketed covers. Checked 2026-09-30 · Source
  • Ask in your quote: Choose a case material with the printer before confirming finish compatibility.
    Sewn casebound hardcover with printed, cloth, PU or jacketed covers. Checked 2026-09-30 · Source
  • Ask in your quote: Confirm this exact trim with the printer; a maximum or custom-size offer does not establish every size.
    Custom dimensions are offered; the supported range is not established here. Checked 2026-09-30 · Source
  • Ask in your quote: Confirm page count, stock, interior printing and finished book-block thickness as one specification.
    Complete page-count and paper-stock compatibility is not established by the approved seed evidence. Checked 2026-09-30 · Source
    Exact interior ink, paper, file specifications and their finish compatibility require a quote. Checked 2026-09-30 · Source
  • Ask in your quote: Finish evidence describes routes and combinations, not universal compatibility. Confirm selected case, foil process, endpapers and artwork together.
    Foil and custom endsheets are documented. Exact combined finish and cover specifications require confirmation. Checked 2026-09-30 · Source 1 · Source 2
  • Confirmed fact: The selected edge technique has a documented route, subject to the constraints below.
    Printed edges are documented only for perfect-bound or casebound book blocks at least 0.40 inches thick. Page count alone does not establish thickness. Checked 2026-09-30 · Source
  • Ask in your quote: Printed edges require a measured/calculated book block of at least 0.40 inches. Page count cannot substitute for thickness.
    Printed edges are documented only for perfect-bound or casebound book blocks at least 0.40 inches thick. Page count alone does not establish thickness. Checked 2026-09-30 · Source
All evidence, production and proof requirements

quantity · documented
Hardcover minimum is 250 copies; this does not establish a minimum for each cover variant. Checked 2026-09-30 · Source

binding · documented
Sewn casebound hardcover with printed, cloth, PU or jacketed covers. Checked 2026-09-30 · Source

dimensions · unknown
Custom dimensions are offered; the supported range is not established here. Checked 2026-09-30 · Source

pages · unknown
Complete page-count and paper-stock compatibility is not established by the approved seed evidence. Checked 2026-09-30 · Source

print · quote-required
Exact interior ink, paper, file specifications and their finish compatibility require a quote. Checked 2026-09-30 · Source

finishes · documented
Foil and custom endsheets are documented. Exact combined finish and cover specifications require confirmation. Checked 2026-09-30 · Source 1 · Source 2

edges · documented
Printed edges are documented only for perfect-bound or casebound book blocks at least 0.40 inches thick. Page count alone does not establish thickness. Checked 2026-09-30 · Source

variants · unknown
Split-cover runs are supported; per-variant minimum is unknown. A total of 250 does not establish eligibility for 125 + 125. Checked 2026-09-30 · Source

fulfillment · documented
A US warehouse fulfillment option is documented; store integration details are not established. Checked 2026-09-30 · Source

production · documented
Shenzhen, China partner factories. Checked 2026-09-30 · Source 1 · Source 2

proofs · documented
Digital proofs and optional physical proofs are documented. Checked 2026-09-30 · Source 1 · Source 2

Bookvault

Documented candidate · specification review required

  • Confirmed fact: Total quantity meets the documented minimum; no maximum established. This does not establish per-variant eligibility.
    Bespoke minimum is one copy. Checked 2026-09-30 · Source
  • Confirmed fact: A hardcover binding route is documented. Confirm the exact case construction.
    PPC (printed paper case) or cloth casebound hardcover. Checked 2026-09-30 · Source
  • Ask in your quote: Choose a case material with the printer before confirming finish compatibility.
    PPC (printed paper case) or cloth casebound hardcover. Checked 2026-09-30 · Source
  • Ask in your quote: Confirm this exact trim with the printer; a maximum or custom-size offer does not establish every size.
    Exact bespoke trim eligibility must be checked against the requested specification. Checked 2026-09-30 · Source
  • Ask in your quote: Confirm page count, stock, interior printing and finished book-block thickness as one specification.
    Exact bespoke page-count and paper eligibility must be checked. Checked 2026-09-30 · Source
    Exact interior ink, stock and file requirements need specification review. Checked 2026-09-30 · Source
  • Ask in your quote: Finish evidence describes routes and combinations, not universal compatibility. Confirm selected case, foil process, endpapers and artwork together.
    PPC foil requires matte lamination. One foil color is standard. Foil and Spot UV cannot coexist. Printed endpapers explicitly combine with foil and sprayed edges, subject to specifications. Checked 2026-09-30 · Source 1 · Source 2
  • Ask in your quote: Documented alternative: sprayed edges. Exact printed-artwork reproduction is unknown; approve the technique with the printer.
    Sprayed-edge route is documented. This is not confirmation that arbitrary printed edge artwork can be reproduced. Checked 2026-09-30 · Source 1 · Source 2
  • Ask in your quote: If choosing PPC foil, use matte lamination; confirm the case specification.
    PPC foil requires matte lamination. One foil color is standard. Foil and Spot UV cannot coexist. Printed endpapers explicitly combine with foil and sprayed edges, subject to specifications. Checked 2026-09-30 · Source 1 · Source 2
All evidence, production and proof requirements

quantity · documented
Bespoke minimum is one copy. Checked 2026-09-30 · Source

binding · documented
PPC (printed paper case) or cloth casebound hardcover. Checked 2026-09-30 · Source

dimensions · unknown
Exact bespoke trim eligibility must be checked against the requested specification. Checked 2026-09-30 · Source

pages · unknown
Exact bespoke page-count and paper eligibility must be checked. Checked 2026-09-30 · Source

print · quote-required
Exact interior ink, stock and file requirements need specification review. Checked 2026-09-30 · Source

finishes · documented
PPC foil requires matte lamination. One foil color is standard. Foil and Spot UV cannot coexist. Printed endpapers explicitly combine with foil and sprayed edges, subject to specifications. Checked 2026-09-30 · Source 1 · Source 2

edges · documented
Sprayed-edge route is documented. This is not confirmation that arbitrary printed edge artwork can be reproduced. Checked 2026-09-30 · Source 1 · Source 2

variants · unknown
Per-cover-variant minimums and mixed-cover order eligibility are not established. Checked 2026-09-30 · Source 1 · Source 2

fulfillment · documented
Worldwide shipping and store integrations provide a documented one-copy bespoke route; exact integration/product setup needs confirmation. Checked 2026-09-30 · Source

production · documented
Bespoke and sprayed-edge production is in the UK. Do not infer US bespoke production. Checked 2026-09-30 · Source 1 · Source 2

proofs · unknown
A proof process for the requested bespoke combination is not established in the supplied evidence. Checked 2026-09-30 · Source

finish combination · unsupported
Foil and Spot UV cannot coexist on the Bookvault bespoke route. Checked 2026-09-30 · Source

QinPrinting

Excluded for this specification

  • Conflict: Requested 25 copies falls outside the documented run range (100+).
    Special-edition calculator minimum is 100 copies. Checked 2026-09-30 · Source
  • Confirmed fact: A hardcover binding route is documented. Confirm the exact case construction.
    Sewn hardcover with printed, cloth or PU covers. Checked 2026-09-30 · Source
  • Ask in your quote: Choose a case material with the printer before confirming finish compatibility.
    Sewn hardcover with printed, cloth or PU covers. Checked 2026-09-30 · Source
  • Confirmed fact: Trim is within the documented width and height range; confirm it with finishes.
    Width 95–320 mm and height 95–420 mm are documented. Checked 2026-09-30 · Source
  • Ask in your quote: Confirm page count, stock, interior printing and finished book-block thickness as one specification.
    Complete page-count and paper-stock compatibility is not established by the approved seed evidence. Checked 2026-09-30 · Source
    Exact interior ink, paper, file specifications and their finish compatibility require a quote. Checked 2026-09-30 · Source
  • Ask in your quote: Finish evidence describes routes and combinations, not universal compatibility. Confirm selected case, foil process, endpapers and artwork together.
    Deluxe combinations explicitly include foil, painted or gilded edges, printed endpapers, ribbon and packaging. Exact selections still require a quote. Checked 2026-09-30 · Source 1 · Source 2
  • Unknown: The selected edge technique is not documented for this provider; another edge route is described.
    Painted and gilded edges are documented; arbitrary printed edge artwork is not established. Checked 2026-09-30 · Source
All evidence, production and proof requirements

quantity · documented
Special-edition calculator minimum is 100 copies. Checked 2026-09-30 · Source

binding · documented
Sewn hardcover with printed, cloth or PU covers. Checked 2026-09-30 · Source

dimensions · documented
Width 95–320 mm and height 95–420 mm are documented. Checked 2026-09-30 · Source

pages · unknown
Complete page-count and paper-stock compatibility is not established by the approved seed evidence. Checked 2026-09-30 · Source

print · quote-required
Exact interior ink, paper, file specifications and their finish compatibility require a quote. Checked 2026-09-30 · Source

finishes · documented
Deluxe combinations explicitly include foil, painted or gilded edges, printed endpapers, ribbon and packaging. Exact selections still require a quote. Checked 2026-09-30 · Source 1 · Source 2

edges · documented
Painted and gilded edges are documented; arbitrary printed edge artwork is not established. Checked 2026-09-30 · Source

variants · unknown
A/B covers are documented; per-variant minimum quantities are unknown. Checked 2026-09-30 · Source

fulfillment · unknown
Bulk door-to-door shipping is documented. Direct-to-reader fulfillment is unknown. Checked 2026-09-30 · Source

production · documented
Own production in Shanghai, China. Checked 2026-09-30 · Source

proofs · documented
Digital and physical proofs are documented. Checked 2026-09-30 · Source

48 Hour Books

Documented candidate · specification review required

  • Confirmed fact: Total quantity meets the documented minimum; no maximum established. This does not establish per-variant eligibility.
    Minimum is 10 copies. Checked 2026-09-30 · Source
  • Confirmed fact: A hardcover binding route is documented. Confirm the exact case construction.
    Casebound printed, linen, leatherette or bonded-leather covers. Checked 2026-09-30 · Source
  • Ask in your quote: Choose a case material with the printer before confirming finish compatibility.
    Casebound printed, linen, leatherette or bonded-leather covers. Checked 2026-09-30 · Source
  • Ask in your quote: Confirm this exact trim with the printer; a maximum or custom-size offer does not establish every size.
    Edge-printing edge lengths are 4.5–12 inches. General trim limits are not established. Source text excludes landscape but price tables show landscape examples: landscape requires a quote. Checked 2026-09-30 · Source
  • Ask in your quote: Confirm page count, stock, interior printing and finished book-block thickness as one specification.
    Edge printing has limits within 200–1,000 pages depending on stock; being inside that interval alone does not establish eligibility. Checked 2026-09-30 · Source
    Exact interior ink, paper, file specifications and their finish compatibility require a quote. Checked 2026-09-30 · Source
  • Ask in your quote: Finish evidence describes routes and combinations, not universal compatibility. Confirm selected case, foil process, endpapers and artwork together.
    Hot foil on cloth/leather is distinct from Diamond 3D raised foil. Printed edges explicitly combine with Diamond 3D; custom endsheets are described with these options. Hot foil must not be substituted as an equivalent confirmed combination. Checked 2026-09-30 · Source 1 · Source 2 · Source 3
  • Confirmed fact: The selected edge technique has a documented route, subject to the constraints below.
    Printed edges are documented with stock, page-count, dimension and orientation restrictions. Checked 2026-09-30 · Source
  • Ask in your quote: Ask which paper stock supports this page count and edge design; 200–1,000 is an outer envelope, not a universal range.
    Edge printing has limits within 200–1,000 pages depending on stock; being inside that interval alone does not establish eligibility. Checked 2026-09-30 · Source
    Printed edges are documented with stock, page-count, dimension and orientation restrictions. Checked 2026-09-30 · Source
  • Ask in your quote: Printed edges with foil use the documented Diamond 3D raised-foil route; confirm that this meets your design.
    Hot foil on cloth/leather is distinct from Diamond 3D raised foil. Printed edges explicitly combine with Diamond 3D; custom endsheets are described with these options. Hot foil must not be substituted as an equivalent confirmed combination. Checked 2026-09-30 · Source 1 · Source 2 · Source 3
All evidence, production and proof requirements

quantity · documented
Minimum is 10 copies. Checked 2026-09-30 · Source

binding · documented
Casebound printed, linen, leatherette or bonded-leather covers. Checked 2026-09-30 · Source

dimensions · quote-required
Edge-printing edge lengths are 4.5–12 inches. General trim limits are not established. Source text excludes landscape but price tables show landscape examples: landscape requires a quote. Checked 2026-09-30 · Source

pages · quote-required
Edge printing has limits within 200–1,000 pages depending on stock; being inside that interval alone does not establish eligibility. Checked 2026-09-30 · Source

print · quote-required
Exact interior ink, paper, file specifications and their finish compatibility require a quote. Checked 2026-09-30 · Source

finishes · documented
Hot foil on cloth/leather is distinct from Diamond 3D raised foil. Printed edges explicitly combine with Diamond 3D; custom endsheets are described with these options. Hot foil must not be substituted as an equivalent confirmed combination. Checked 2026-09-30 · Source 1 · Source 2 · Source 3

edges · documented
Printed edges are documented with stock, page-count, dimension and orientation restrictions. Checked 2026-09-30 · Source

variants · unknown
Split-cover runs and per-variant minimum quantities are unknown. Checked 2026-09-30 · Source

fulfillment · unknown
US/Canada shipments and split shipping are documented; automatic fulfillment and storage are unknown. Checked 2026-09-30 · Source

production · documented
US production; custom endsheets are available only from Twinsburg, Ohio. Checked 2026-09-30 · Source 1 · Source 2

proofs · documented
PDF proofs and paid bound proofs are documented. Checked 2026-09-30 · Source